Why Midlife Crisis 101?

Because it is good to have a midlife crisis. This is why.

So you wake up one day and take stock.

You’re 40 something, married with 2 kids, house, a business,  2 cars, 3 dogs, expenses coming out of your ears, you’re an orphan and you’re out of shape.

FUCK! How the hell did I get here?

What do you do? Go and buy a convertible Porsche and show everyone your bald patch? Divorce seems very popular now a days or even having an affair.

Having a midlife crisis isn’t a bad thing but it is a good time to take stock of your life and institute the changes necessary to make you happy and stay happy.

The truth is you were there all along. Making all the decisions and happily letting life pass you by but now you’re here and not particularly happy with where you are. You’re not that carefree 20 something anymore although you feel that way but now you have the weight of the world on your shoulders.

Let’s rewind a little.

I lost my Dad suddenly to a Heart attack 9 years ago which was a massive shock. He was fit and relatively healthy, never drank or smoked but literally worked himself to death trying to give his family everything he thought we wanted. I know the Cholesterol levels are in my genes so I know I need to control this before I suffer a similar demise.

My Mum passed away one week ago but thankfully left me furnished with life skills and optimism to know I can overcome anything in life. Hopefully this might inspire one or two of you to do some soul searching and do the same.

These two events have made me single minded enough to make sure this midlife crisis doesn’t get the better of me. My Mother always taught me to do things to the best of my ability so this midlife crisis is going to be done the best of my ability.

The plan:

This is imperative, if you fail to plan you plan to fail. I’ve identified 5 key areas which I want to strive in. Yours might be different. Here are some of mine as examples of where I believe there is room for improvement in my life.

1.)    Spending more quality time with my kids and getting them to share my love for exercise.

2.)    I want to make sure I remember why my wife and I fell in love in the first place and keep the love strong.

3.)    My business has to earn me enough to enjoy the finer things in life.

4.)    Live by how you will be remembered when you’re gone.

5.)    Raise as much money and awareness for my two chosen charities. (more about this later)

 The pitfalls:

It’s important to identify the pitfalls to make sure you don’t fall into these traps.

1.)    Procrastination.

2.)    Lack of clear goals, vision and route map on how to get there.

3.)    Staying in your comfort zone.

4.)    Complacency.

5.)    Not making enough time for yourself.

Setting goals:

Small short term goals are just as important as BHAG’s(Big Hairy Audacious Goals)

1.)    Goals need to be concise, specific and measurable

2.)    Goals need to be fluid so you can change them of circumstances change.

3.)    Set short term goals first (1-6 Months)

4.)    Then set your medium (6 Months – 3 years)

5.)    And lastly where do you see yourself in 5 and 10 years time.

The last thing you want it to wake up in 10 years time and think, “FUCK how did I get here?”

The vehicles:

By vehicles I mean how you’re going to reach your goals and achieve what you set out to do in the first place. Here’s how I will be making changes for example.

1.)    Sport – Identify sports you and your kids can enjoy together.

2.)    Make sure you plan some alone time with your significant others.

3.)    Solid business plan for the year and identify where your energy is best spent.

4.)    Spirituality is important to me and not religion. Identifying books and courses that can help is imperative.

5.)    Giving is far more rewarding than receiving.

You can follow my journey and hopefully identify with it and make the move to happy again.

Leave a Reply

